T.A.R.D.I.S. Tea Cosy

We started watching Doctor Who this season (season 8) and really love it! I thought it would be so cool to make a T.A.R.D.I.S. tea cosy! I looked around for patterns, but couldn’t find anything that I liked the whole look of, so I decided to make my own.

My first attempt was a little baggy…

T.A.R.D.I.S. Tea Cosy Mk I

So, I made a few changes…

T.A.R.D.I.S. Tea Cosy Mk II

I’m really chuffed with how the second one turned out πŸ™‚

I’ve written out a pattern if you’d like to make one too πŸ™‚

Pattern –> TARDIS Tea Cosy

P.S. Just a note that all my patterns are for personal use only. Please don’t copy them and sell them or anything like that πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “T.A.R.D.I.S. Tea Cosy

  1. megan kane says:

    Loving the tardis tea cosy πŸ™‚ in the pattern it does not say what type of wool to use, I was just wondering what type did you use?

    Like

    • Joyful Mum says:

      Hi Megan πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much πŸ™‚
      Oops, I forgot about that because I tend to use the same sort of stuff all the time πŸ™‚ it’s 8 ply yarn πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Elicia says:

    I can’t figure out what “SS 3 rows” means. 😦 I’m new to this. I found out that it’s a slip stitch of some sort, but how to do do that to the entire row… or three?

    Please help. 😦

    Like

  3. Knitty says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you – my Dad has just asked me for a tardis tea cosy for Christmas but I’m a basic knitter and I’m useless without a pattern – this looks easy enough for even me to try πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I just used your pattern to make a hat for a young man at church who is a Dr Who fan. This first try is ok, but seeing it done, I can tweak the next one and it will be perfect.
    Here’s what I did, if you want to try…(I would never claim this as my pattern, as it uses your tea cozy pattern completely) I used worsted weight yarn and 4mm dp needles for the four rows of ribbing, and 4.5mm dp needles for the rest. I cast on 72 sts, and worked one extra section (3 instead of two) and worked in the round on double pointed needles. Reverse the stitches on all even rows, as you are always on the front side. (or you could work it flat and sew a back seam) I made the black stripe only five rows, and omitted the lettering. I started decreasing at the third row above the stripe, starting with ‘knit 7, kn 2 tog,’ eight times and continue to dec in descending numbers every row until there are 4 sts left. Thread tail through remaining sts.Tie off and weave in ends. I used a small white pompom on the top. Size is for a teenager, and it will fit an adult. The tea cozy was the exact look I wanted for his hat. It turned out just perfect… thank you so much!
    Blessings, Mari

    Like

  5. Knitty says:

    Hi again,

    I love this pattern, it’s so easy to follow – thank you!!

    The only thing I’m stick on is the little white bobble on the top. I’ve knitted it up but on the needles it looks more like a strip of white than the square I thought it might turn out to be.

    You mention to bind and tie it. Is there a special method to turn the strip into a bobble or should I just carry on and knit more rows then cast off and make it into a bobble? I’m using 3.25 needles as suggested so maybe my gauge is really out.

    Thanks again πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Joyful Mum says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much πŸ™‚
      The bobble is a strip essentially, but when you bind and tie you pull it tight and that makes the round top. I hope that makes sense.

      Like

      • Knitty says:

        Ahhh, I’ve just seen that bind off is another team for cast off so I’m good with that bit. I’m such a basic knitter so knitting this project has taught me so much, I couldn’t even do stripes before and now I can do colour blocks, work from a grid – the World is now my lobster πŸ˜‰ so thank you again!! As for the tie bit I’ll play around and figure out how to bobble it.

        Thank you so much for the pattern and all of your follow on help. After Dad has opened it, and if it’s ok with you, I’ll pop a photo of the finished thing on my Facebook with a link to this pattern?

        Happy Holidays and New Year x

        Like

      • Joyful Mum says:

        Well, the bind and tie isnt actually casting off in the usual way, you cut the yarn, then thread it through the loops on the needle, then you tie it off πŸ™‚ that rounds the top of it πŸ™‚
        I hope your Dad likes it πŸ™‚
        Im so pleased that you’ve learnt new skills πŸ™‚
        Thats fine about the photo πŸ™‚
        Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. Sandie K says:

    Hi! Love the pattern, thank you so much for sharing. Please tell me what size Tea pot this is for, and what the gauge is to achieve it?

    Like

    • Joyful Mum says:

      Thanks Lisa! Sorry for the super late reply… Im not really sure about converting to crochet… I think you’d have to play around with it a bit till you got the right size. Sorry 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

