Trauma Teddies

Wow! I didn’t realise it has been so long since I have posted anything here. I keep meaning to, then other things pop up.

My son broke his arm last week, and when he was in the ambulance the paramedics gave him a knitted bear. This bear stayed with him throughout his x-rays, surgery, recovery and everything. It provided so much comfort for him.

I really wanted to replace the bear that was given to him, so another child could receive the same comfort during their sickness/injury. I started at one and today I am going to make a start on number four πŸ™‚

Below are some of my notes and links for future reference πŸ™‚

dsc_0781-large

Trauma Teddy PatternΒ – External Link, the main difference I did was to knit the bear in one piece instead of two pieces… so when I got to the top of the head, I worked back down the head down to the feet and cast off there.

I also made a different arm because I wanted it to look more like a shirt. So I didn’t do the increases for the arms, instead, after I cast off I picked up 9 sts from the front and 9 sts from the back of the shirt. Here is a good video on how to do this. Then you knit as normal. The arm is 18 sts and you workΒ 34 rows and then cast off.

And then I used this method for stitching them up πŸ™‚

Happy Knitting πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

